Course description




Level 2 and 3

Course Aims: 

This eLearning course aims to introduce you to the topic of Anxiety and the different anxiety diagnoses in health and social care.

The anxiety course begins by explaining what anxiety is, how prevalent it is and why individuals may experience heightened anxiety in their daily lives. The course goes on to distinguish between fear and anxiety, before outlining the symptoms of anxiety disorders including the emotional, physical and behavioural symptoms. The course describes the difference between the ‘normal’ anxiety we all experience from time to time, and anxiety that is classified as a ‘disorder’.

You will then learn about the causes of anxiety disorders, and other problems that may co-exist, for examples, feelings of depression, or alcohol use.

In stage two, you will learn in more detail about the specific diagnoses of anxiety disorder, including Generalised Anxiety Disorder (GAD), Panic Disorder, Mixed Anxiety and Depressive Disorder (MADD), Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD), Hoarding Disorder, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), Social Anxiety Disorder and Phobias.

Stage three focuses on support and treatment options, outlining the different treatment options for different diagnoses, as specified by the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE). The course will also give help and guidance on how you can support an individual you work with if they are experiencing an anxiety disorder. 

Learning Outcomes: 

The learning outcomes for this course are:

  • Explain what anxiety is
  • Identify the different signs and symptoms of anxiety
  • Outline the common causes of anxiety
  • Identify different types and diagnoses of anxiety disorders
  • Know the coexisting problems associated with anxiety
  • Outline the support and treatment options available for anxiety disorders.